© Ville de Montauban

Notre‑Dame cathedral

located at the highest point of the city
What is this big green roof that we see in the distance as soon as we arrive in Montauban?
A good reason to go to the historic center, to discover its secrets.

A little history

The highest point of the old center, here it is, monumental, perched at the top of the large steps. Its classic lines and the whiteness of its stones contrast with the surrounding brick houses. The four imposing statues of the evangelists gaze at you from the top of the facade. The vocation of power of the monument, is intact. Engulf yourself in the lair of this great lady with a charged soul.

As soon as you enter, the 4 original statues of the evangelists will surprise you. The resonance is heavenly and the refined light floods the immense space with a sober softness. The vast nave is bathed in clear light, which penetrates under the perfect arches of the high windows.

For the curious

Open your eyes wide. Among the works preserved here, the most famous is the painting by Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, “Le Vœu de Louis XIII”.

In 1820 the painter, a native of Montauban, was commissioned by the State for this imposing painting, intended to adorn the cathedral. The subject is not innocent: Louis XIII, unhappy sovereign, obliged to lift the siege before the rebel Montauban, is represented here, offering his kingdom to the Virgin. It then took more than four years for Ingres to produce this painting. And it was Ingres himself who installed it in the cathedral in 1826!

Did you know ?

It was in 1685, at the end of the Wars of Religion, that Louis XIV decided to build this gigantic cathedral to assert his authority.

After a fundraiser, the site was chosen in 1691 on the Place des Monges. Several blocks of houses are razed to accommodate this new building, positioned on the highest point of the city. 87m long and 38m wide at the transept, the white Cathedral thrones eternally over the pink city.

© Ville de Montauban

Cathédrale Notre‑Dame de l'Assomption

située au point culminant de la ville
Quel est ce grand toit vert que l’on aperçoit au loin dès notre arrivée à Montauban ?
Une bonne raison de rejoindre le centre historique, pour en découvrir les secrets.

Un peu d'histoire

Point culminant du centre ancien, la voilà, monumentale, perchée en haut des grandes marches. Ses lignes classiques et la blancheur de ses pierres, tranchent avec les maisons de briques alentours. Les quatre imposantes statues des évangélistes, posent leurs regards sur vous, du haut de la façade. La vocation de pouvoir du monument, est intacte. Engouffrez-vous dans l’antre de cette grande dame à l’âme chargée.

Dès l’entrée, les 4 statues originales des évangélistes vous surprennent. La résonnance est céleste et la lumière épurée inonde l’immense espace d’une sobre douceur. La vaste nef est baignée de la lumière claire, qui pénètre sous les arcs parfaits des hautes fenêtres.

Pour les curieux

Ouvrez grand vos yeux. Parmi les œuvres conservées ici, la plus célèbre est la toile de Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, « Le Vœu de Louis XIII ».

En 1820 le peintre, natif de Montauban, se voit commander par l’État cet imposant tableau, destiné à orner la cathédrale. Le sujet n’est pas innocent : Louis XIII, souverain malheureux, obligé de lever le siège devant Montauban la rebelle, est ici représenté, offrant son royaume à la Vierge. Il faut alors plus de quatre années à Ingres, pour réaliser ce tableau. Et c’est Ingres lui-même qui l’installe dans la cathédrale en 1826 !

Le saviez-vous ?

C’est en 1685, au terme des guerres de Religion, que Louis XIV décide de faire construire cette gigantesque cathédrale pour affirmer son autorité.

Après une récolte de fonds, l’emplacement est choisi en 1691 sur la place des Monges. Plusieurs îlots de maisons sont rasés pour accueillir ce nouvel édifice, positionné sur le point culminant de la cité. Longue de 87 m et large de 38m au transept, la blanche Cathédrale trône éternellement sur la ville rose.