Montauban celebrates

The 400 years of the 400 blows

1621 – 2021. In September, Montauban will celebrate the 400th anniversary of one of the most famous episodes in its history: that of the siege of the city by Louis XIII and the resistance of its inhabitants, despite cannon fire.

1621-2021

The year 2021 will mark the 400th anniversary of one of the major events in the history of the city of Ingres: the siege of the city by the royal troops of Louis XIII in 1621 and the resistance of its inhabitants.

Good to know

On the occasion of this anniversary, the City will live to the rhythm of the 400 blows from September 16 to 22, 2021: strolls, live shows, sounds and lights, large popular buffet, demonstrations of period sports and many other events will enliven Montauban!

Full program

The legend and its origin

Legend has it that Louis XIII, overwhelmed by the Montalbanese resistance, fired 400 cannon shots in the space of a few hours, on September 19 or 20, to terrorize the population and obtain their surrender. The reckless Montalbanais would have held a banquet during the cannonade as a symbol of their determination and their resistance to the King. This episode has since been cited as the origin of the phrase “do the 400 blows”.

Montauban célèbre

Les 400 ans des 400 coups

1621 – 2021. Au mois de septembre, Montauban célèbrera les 400 ans d’un des épisodes les plus célèbres de son histoire : celui du siège de la ville par Louis XIII et la résistance de ses habitants, malgré les tirs de canon.

1621-2021

L’année 2021 marquera en effet le 400ème anniversaire de l’un des faits majeurs de l’histoire de la cité d’Ingres : le siège de la ville par les troupes royales de Louis XIII en 1621 et la résistance de ses habitants.

Bon à savoir

À l’occasion de cet anniversaire, la Ville va vivre au rythme des 400 coups du 16 au 22 septembre 2021 : déambulations, spectacles vivants, sons et lumières, grand buffet populaire, démonstrations de sports d’époque et bien d’autres évènements animeront Montauban !

Au programme

La légende et son origine

La légende raconte que Louis XIII, excédé par la résistance montalbanaise, aurait fait tirer, en l’espace de quelques heures, le 19 ou 20 septembre, 400 coups de canon pour terroriser la population et obtenir sa reddition. Les Montalbanais, téméraires, auraient fait un banquet pendant la canonnade comme symbole de leur détermination et de leur résistance au Roi. Depuis, cet épisode est invoqué comme l’origine de l’expression « faire les 400 coups ».