© CIAP

Carmelite Convent

between nature and music
A parenthesis of serenity, in the corridors of time.

Some history

At the back of the building, go through the portal erected between two columns. The cloister reveals a landscaped garden, in the heart of which bloom the colors and scents of fruit trees, vegetable plants, medicinal herbs, condiments and flowers of various essences …

Discover the Simples garden

Stroll under the vaulted galleries on cross ribs, which gracefully wrap around the edges of the garden. Let yourself be transported into the meanders of the past, reading the religious maxims inscribed on the walls. Precious vestiges, from the time when the sisters of Notre-Dame-de-Charité-du-Refuge had founded here, an establishment for young girls (1841).

Did you know?

During the 13th century, Montauban was surrounded by a network of convents which reached the new city, then in full expansion.

In 1280, the Carmelites built a first convent at the confluence of the Tarn and the Tescou. Destroyed by the Protestants in the 16th century, the convent was rebuilt and completed in 1717. The main entrance is located at the corner of Impasse des Carmes and Grand-Rue Sapiac.

© CIAP

Couvent des Carmes

entre nature et musique
Une parenthèse de sérénité, dans les couloirs du temps.

Un peu d'histoire

À l’arrière du bâtiment, franchissez le portail dressé entre deux colonnes. Le cloitre vous révèle un jardin aménagé, au cœur duquel s’épanouissent les teintes et parfums d’arbres fruitiers, de plantes potagères, d’herbes médicinales, de condiments et de fleurs aux essences variées…

Découvrir le jardin de Simples

Flânez sous les galeries voutées sur croisées d’ogives, qui enveloppent gracieusement les pourtours du jardin. Laissez-vous transporter dans les méandres du passé, à la lecture des maximes religieuses inscrites sur les murs. De précieux vestiges, du temps où les sœurs de Notre-Dame-de-Charité-du-Refuge avaient fondé ici, un établissement pour jeunes filles (1841).

Le saviez-vous ?

Au cours du XIIIe siècle, Montauban est ceinturée d’un réseau de couvents qui gagnent la cité nouvelle, alors en pleine expansion.

En 1280, les Carmes bâtissent un premier couvent à la confluence du Tarn et du Tescou. Détruit par les protestants au XVIe siècle, le couvent est reconstruit et achevé en 1717. L’entrée principale est située à l’angle de l’impasse des Carmes et de la Grand-Rue Sapiac.