© Dominique Viet

National Square

pink heart of the City of Ingres
In fine weather, the bricks change their reflections, the melody of restaurant cutlery resonates, conversations enliven the square and the passageways under the arcades. Take your place in the background. Enjoy the freshness of a glass on the tile, the local flavors at restaurant tables, the rhythms of a concert, or even the fascinating anecdotes of the tour guides during a guided tour.

For the curious

The square has characteristics that inspired the construction of new towns and bastides in the Midi.

Take a good look at the arches, they are not all the same size. They each correspond to the width of their respective building. The keystones, under the covers, give you clues about the owners and the dates of construction. Behind the doors hide treasures saved from the fires: a medieval brick tower here, a Renaissance gallery there …

The buildings are suitable for both professional and personal functions. The shop occupies the ground floor, the first and second floors are inhabited and the upper floor, recognizable by its mirandes, serves as an attic.

34519 15 034519 15 034519 15 0

It is all built of red bricks which hiss softly …

Emile-Antoine Bourdelle

Focus

National Square

Explore the history of Place Nationale in the company of the CIAP thanks to the brochure “Focus place Nationale”.

© Dominique Viet

Place Nationale

cœur rose de la Cité d'Ingres
Aux beaux jours, les briques changent de reflets, la mélodie des couverts des restaurants résonnent, les conversations animent la place et les coursives sous les arcades. Prenez place dans le décor. Appréciez  la fraicheur d’un verre sur le carreau, les saveurs locales aux tables des restaurants, les rythmes d’un concert, ou encore les anecdotes passionnantes des guides conférenciers à l’occasion d’une visite guidée.

Pour les curieux

La place présente des caractéristiques qui ont inspiré les constructions des villes neuves et bastides du Midi.

Observez bien les arcades, elles ne sont pas toutes de la même taille. Elles correspondent chacune à la largeur de leur immeuble respectif. Les clés de voûtes, sous les couverts, vous donnent des indices sur les propriétaires et les dates de construction. Derrière les portes, se cachent des trésors sauvés des incendies : une tour de brique médiévale par ici, une galerie d’époque Renaissance par là…

Les immeubles sont adaptés à la double fonction professionnelle et personnelle. La boutique occupe le rez-de-chaussée, les premiers et deuxièmes étages sont habités et l’étage supérieur reconnaissable à ses mirandes, sert de grenier.

34519 15 034519 15 034519 15 0

Elle est toute construite de briques rouges qui sifflent doucement…

Emile-Antoine Bourdelle

Focus

Place nationale

Parcourez l’histoire de la place Nationale en compagnie du CIAP grâce à la brochure « Focus place Nationale ».