© altiBLUE

The Foucault course

Park and meeting place of Montalbanais
Take the main path of the park and admire the treasure that points to the sky. The imposing war memorial sculpted by Antoine Bourdelle sits at the end of the alley. The skyward columns provide a privileged spot for photography enthusiasts, who draw inspiration from the work of the Master for innovative shots facing the sky.

Some history

Intendant Nicolas Joseph Foucault created in 1679, the first public promenade on the site of the current course. This walk has first a double objective: to retain the lands which are collapsing along the Tarn and to offer the Montalbanais a pleasant space.

The course then spread over 5 hectares and quickly became a place frequented by the elegant society of the city, who liked to appear there and walk there …

This peaceful park on the outskirts of the Tarn also invites you to stroll: Take a seat in the shade, for a family picnic punctuated by happy moments near the playground or a little further, towards the Albarèdes , discover a place suitable for bowls players, ideal for pétanque enthusiasts!

Did you know?

The Cours Foucault is a hotbed of major cultural and sporting events but also a meeting place, dear to Montalbanais.

You will be able to find the marathon there, an unmissable event attracting many sportsmen from all over France or the festivities of the 400 blows, the city’s funfair which takes place every year, the 2nd weekend of September.

© altiBLUE

Le cours Foucault

Parc et lieu de rencontre des Montalbanais
Empruntez l’allée principale du parc et admirez le trésor qui pointe vers le ciel. L’imposant monument aux morts sculpté par Antoine Bourdelle trône au bout de l’allée. Les colonnes dressées vers le ciel offrent un spot privilégié aux amateurs de photographie, qui s’inspirent de l’œuvre du Maître pour des clichés innovant tournés vers le ciel.

Un peu d'histoire

L’intendant Nicolas Joseph Foucault créé en 1679, la première promenade publique  à l’emplacement de l’actuel cours. Cette promenade a d’abord un double objectif : retenir les terres qui s’effondrent le long du Tarn et offrir aux Montalbanais un espace d’agrément.

Le cours s’étend alors sur 5 hectares et devient rapidement un lieu fréquenté par la société élégante de la ville, qui aima y paraître et s’y promener…

Ce parc tranquille aux abords du Tarn vous invite également à la flânerie : Prenez place à l’ombre, pour un pique-nique en famille rythmé d’instants joyeux à proximité de l’aire de jeu ou peu plus loin, en direction des Albarèdes, découvrez un lieu propice aux boulistes , idéal pour amateurs de pétanque !

Le saviez-vous ?

Le Cours Foucault est un foyer d’événements culturels et sportifs majeurs mais aussi un lieu de rencontres, cher aux Montalbanais.

Vous pourrez y retrouver le marathon, rendez-vous incontournable attirant de nombreux sportifs venus de la France entière ou encore les festivités des 400 coups, fête foraine de la ville qui a lieu chaque année, le 2ème week-end de Septembre.