Garden of plants

Green lung of the city
Embark on a botanical journey and let yourself be enchanted by the scents and colors of hackberry, Chinese ginkbo biloba and giant American redwood. You may even come across white mulberries, famous in the old silkworm industry of the City of Montauban.

Did you know?

Part of the garden is owned by the Osages and Cherokee tribes. Donated by the city on July 22, 1992, it now stands a commemorative plaque, along with the famous giant sequoia.

Would you know how to recognize this conifer with red and thick bark, which can live more than 3000 years and reach a height of 100 m?

For the record, the American Indians of the Osage tribe living in Kansas, arrived in France in 1827 to plead the cause of their people and 3 of them were welcomed in 1829 by Mr. Dubourg. They will return to their country thanks to the generosity of the Montalbanais.

In September 1989, the Oklahoma-Occitania association resumed contact with the tribe, displaced in Oklahoma, who accepted a cultural exchange project. Since 1999, Montauban has been twinned with the town of Pawhuska, capital of the Osages.

A little history

In the 19th century, a steep and bushy embankment between the river and the city, made the area unusable. The raising of a retaining wall in 1849, allowed the creation of a promenade called Le Plateau.

In 1857, the horticultural society organized its first botanical exhibition there, which was a real success. On June 16, 1861, the landscaped and romantic garden was created, designed by Mr. Le Breton, considered at the time to be one of the best landscape architects in the City of Paris.

What to do

in the garden of plants

2 large parking areas nearby

The Jardin des Plantes car park (free), accessible from rue de l’Abbaye.

The Allées Consul Dupuy car park (paying), on the plateau overlooking the garden, then accessible by stairs or a funicular.

Le jardin des Plantes

Poumon vert de la ville
Embarquez pour un voyage botanique et laissez-vous envouter par les parfums et couleurs du micocoulier, du ginkbo biloba de Chine et du séquoia géant d’Amérique. Vous pourrez même croiser des mûriers blancs, célèbres dans l’ancienne industrie du ver à soie de la Ville de Montauban.

Le saviez-vous ?

Une parcelle du jardin appartient aux tribus Osages et Cherokee. Offerte par la ville le 22 juillet 1992, il s’y dresse aujourd’hui une plaque commémorative, ainsi que le fameux séquoia géant.

Sauriez-vous reconnaître, ce conifère à écorce rouge et épaisse, qui peut vivre plus de 3000 ans et atteindre une hauteur de 100 m ?

Pour la petite histoire, les Indiens d’Amérique de la tribu des Osages vivant au Kansas, arrivent en France en 1827 pour plaider la cause de leur peuple et 3 d’entre eux sont accueillis en 1829 par M. Dubourg. Ils retourneront dans leur pays grâce à la générosité des Montalbanais.

En septembre 1989, l’association Oklahoma-Occitania reprend contact avec la tribu, déplacée en Oklahoma, qui accepte un projet d’échanges culturels. Depuis 1999, Montauban est jumelée avec la ville de Pawhuska, capitale des Osages.

Un peu d'histoire

Au 19e siècle, un talus abrupt et broussailleux entre la rivière et la ville, rend la zone inexploitable. L’élévation d’un mur de soutènement en 1849, permet la création d’une promenade appelée Le Plateau.

En 1857, la société d’horticulture y organise une première exposition botanique, qui est un véritable succès. Le 16 juin 1861 est alors créé le jardin paysager et romantique, tracé par M. Le Breton, considéré alors comme l’un des meilleurs architectes paysagistes de la Ville de Paris.

Que faire

au jardin des plantes

2 grandes zones de stationnement à proximité

Le parking du Jardin des Plantes (gratuit), accessible par la rue de l’abbaye.

Le parking Allées Consul Dupuy (payant), sur le plateau qui surplombe le jardin, ensuite accessible par des escaliers ou un funiculaire.