A little history ...
In the 1st century BC J.-C., Cos (Cossa) great center of population for the time, is located near the ford allowing the way Cahors (Divona) - Toulouse (Tolosa) to cross the Aveyron. In 961, Raymond I, Count of Rouergue bequeathed to the abbey of Moissac, the lands, castles and churches of the sites of Ardus, Cos and Sainte Ruffine and Sainte Justine (municipality of Albias). In 1097, the early Saint-Saturnin de Cos church (dating back to the Middle Ages), mentioned in the 961 testament, is confirmed in the bull of Urban II.
In 1236, the Motta family owns Ardus, a hamlet linked to the fortified site of the Gaulish period which is located above the present village on Pech Segur and another castle located at La Mothe Vieille, west of the church, a simple fort consisting of a dungeon without flanks, surrounded by a dry ditch. In 1470, the deeds of sale of the property of the lordship of Lamothe mention bins passage to win the shores on both sides of the Aveyron, Cos and Ardus, and the mill of Ardus.In 1628, the wars of religion left the Catholic population of Ardus bruised and the buildings of Ardus and Cos (mill, castles, churches) in ruins. In 1734, François Duval took the title of Baron de Lamothe. He built the current castle on the edge of Aveyron and became owner of the mill. In 1737, he founded a pottery factory, first establishment of Montalbanais, which obtained the title of Manufacture Royale in 1739.
On March 3 and 4, 1930, a catastrophic flood of Aveyron: 30 houses destroyed and 400 hectares of flooded land.
- Ardus Castle:
It is an elegant 18th century villa, built by Baron François Duval de Lamothe on the banks of the Aveyron. The facades, roofs and decorations of the Salon de Musique are classified Historical Monuments. The dovecote watches over the rue du Moulin.
- The Ardus Mill:Built in the eighteenth century by Baron Lamothe, it was renovated in the late twentieth century to become a private club overlooking the Aveyron, overlooking the beach.
- The Church of Our Lady of Ardus: Its reconstruction dates from the late fifteenth, seventeenth and nineteenth century; the bell tower, made of reinforced cement covered with bricks, was built in 1934.
Inside, the oil paintings on canvas restored and classified are the seventeenth and nineteenth, the dome of baptismal font, remarkable for its gilded wood and painted, early nineteenth. Finally, the choir decorated with paintings fresco was made in 1952, by Nicolas Greschny.
- Saint-Sernin Church of Cos: Rebuilt in the seventeenth century, it has a bell-tower porch style Toulouse, late nineteenth. The pentagonal choir was added to the ancient walls at the same time.
Also discover the faience through the orchids or discover ancient collections through two small hiking trails.
In fine weather, enjoy a stop at the beach of Ardus, the program: swimming, picnic ...